Day 8: A morning poem

Morning greets me in an oversized
sweater, coffee mug in hand
and silence to begin with.

I do not dread the silence –
my uttered words
find shallow wells
and crouch
and wait for asylum.

I do not dismay at quietness.
My dreams still walk in silhouette,
enticing me to not forget
what beauty lies in your solitude.

To you, my love
my gratitude.

**************************
A combination of prompts contributed to this one: A challenge to write an aubade (a morning poem) and challenge to rework an Emily Dickinson poem. I was more inspired by Ms Dickinson to respond to “Silence is all we dread.”

Day 8: A morning poem

Leave a Reply

