Day 26: loose connections

At the reception, I was soaking up the surroundings – sounds, facial expressions,
body language – all of it swirled inside my head
as I walked around the room.
When I empty it onto paper, all of this may
or may not come out intertwined with other words
to make an event that never happened
happen.
******
I spend the afternoon vacuuming the area rugs –
the ones that are burgundy with geometric framing
that direct me around and around the perimeter.
After I’m done, I empty the canister of its contents –
All the dust particles are grey
except for the black pet hair from the hallway runner
where my dog sleeps.

Day 26: loose connections

Leave a Reply

